living through death

"The only way that you can accept life is if you can accept death.” –Leo Buscaglia

The Dissertation Has Begun: Here’s a Look Inside

leave a comment »

If you’ve ever asked yourself, “Just what is Alex working on anyway?”, today is your day. I present to you a link to:

A very short summary of my dissertation

With this public presentation of this summary, I am now entering a new phase. My intent is to share my ongoing work with you. I’ve been writing for the last few weeks now, and it’s become clear to me that writing my dissertation does not give me nearly the same level of pleasure as writing these short reflections. In fact, writing “for my dissertation” has proven to be about the most painful experience I’ve yet had in grad-school. So I’m going to see if I can trick myself and bring us all on a bit of a journey together. I’m going to attempt to draft the sections of my chapters as blog posts. I can easily see this falling apart on me, but at the moment I also think it might just be crazy enough to work. Stay tuned!

P.S. do let me know how my dissertation summary strikes you, should you happen to take a peek!

Written by Alex

November 14, 2014 at 11:45 am

Leave a Reply

