living through death

"The only way that you can accept life is if you can accept death.” –Leo Buscaglia

Summer’s Disappearing Act

leave a comment »

Adrian's Last Walk to Second Grade

The last walk to school with Adrian and our neighbor friends has come and gone. Summer is here, which for me means that my son, Adrian, is here. As any grad student with kids knows, trying to find a way to be both a good academic and a good parent, even amidst ideal circumstances, more often than not feels like an exercise in impossibility. Toss in the imposing demands of comprehensive examination preparation (which I will be sitting for in August) and it’s enough to stimulate a panic attack. For that reason, my friends, I’m going to have to check out for a few months.

During that time I’ll be flying off to England and Iceland to present my paper on Paul Tillich, salvation and adventure in July (which I’ve got nearly wrapped up.) The Iceland portion of that trip has now simply become an attempt to make good on all the adventure talk I’ll be spouting off about in my paper. I’m trying to convince my old friend Jon to join me. There may be a motorcycle involved. We’ll see. I hope to have my paper on prayer finished before I leave.  And after all that, Megan, the family, and I will be heading out West to parts unknown for a family road trip of some kind. I look forward to getting back into the swing of things on the other side, as I’ve found the practice of blogging to be good for me on a number of levels.

I’ve got a couple posts that are still in the works, one of which is an appraisal of Dan Gilbert’s studies on happiness. Looking forward to sharing those with you when I come back up for air!

Best wishes on your own summer plans, whatever it is they may be!

Written by Alex

June 10, 2014 at 10:10 am

Posted in Life

Leave a Reply

